Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [11] Survey of part of the ground floor of the east range, 4 February 1824
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM 62/7/4

Reference number

SM 62/7/4

Purpose

[11] Survey of part of the ground floor of the east range, 4 February 1824

Aspect

Plan

Scale

to a scale

Inscribed

labelled: East Terrace, Collections of / the measures of Windows / and Doors on the / Princes side in the / Great Quadrangle and dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • 4 February 1824
    4 Feby 1824

Medium and dimensions

Pen, hatching, pricked for transfer within five ruled sepia and black wash border on wove paper (532 x 744)

Hand

Stephen Burchell (1806 - c.1843)
Pupil January 1823 - April 1828.

Notes

Originally constructed in 1363-67 and converted into lodgings for members of the court by Hugh May, under Long's brief, the lodgings in the east range were to be converted into private apartments for the royal family. Wyattville made substantial alterations.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).