Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Bury St Edmunds market hall and theatre (later the Market Cross), Suffolk: executed designs for the building, 1775 (3)

Purpose

Bury St Edmunds market hall and theatre (later the Market Cross), Suffolk: executed designs for the building, 1775 (3)

Signed and dated

  • 1775
    1775

Notes

In January 1775 Adam was commissioned to rebuild and enlarge the market hall and theatre at Bury St Edmunds. This was completed in 1780, having been executed in accordance with Adam’s extant drawings. It was built by a local stonemason called Thomas Singleton (1715-92) who also carved the decorative relief panels on the exterior. According to Pevsner and Radcliffe it is ‘the finest post-medieval building at Bury’. The design is cruciform in plan, and gave an open, rusticated, arcaded ground storey for a covered market, with a theatre above.

The ground-storey was enclosed in the 1840s to provide shops, and at the same time the theatre above was converted into a town hall, and the windows on the north front were filled in. If an Adam interior was originally installed on the first storey, this was lost during its conversion in the 1840s, or during a fire in 1908. The arcades on the west and north sides were re-opened and glazed as shop fronts in 1970-71, and the former theatre (later town hall) on the first storey has been used as an art gallery since 1972.

Literature:
A.T. Bolton, The works in architecture of Robert and James Adam, 1922, Volume II, Index p. 5; N. Pevsner, and E. Radcliffe, The buildings of England: Suffolk, 1974, p. 55; D. King, The complete works in architecture of Robert and James Adam and unbuilt Adam, 2001, Volume I, pp. 32, 48-50; S. Colman, 'The de Carle Family: stonemasons of Bury St Edmunds', SIAH Proceedings, Volume XL, part 4, 2004, pp. 466-479; ‘Market Cross, Bury St Edmunds’ British listed buildings online

Frances Sands, 2014

Level

Scheme

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  


Contents of Bury St Edmunds market hall and theatre (later the Market Cross), Suffolk: executed designs for the building, 1775 (3)