Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [37] Design No.1: ground floor plan and elevation, drawn by Soane

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM 64/5/38
image Image 2 for SM 64/5/38
  • image Image 1 for SM 64/5/38
  • image Image 2 for SM 64/5/38

Reference number

SM 64/5/38

Purpose

[37] Design No.1: ground floor plan and elevation, drawn by Soane

Aspect

Ground flooor with pencil amendments, and elevation (on verso)

Scale

bar scale of 3/16 inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

The Earl pf St Germans, No 1, labelled Two Stall Stable, Staircase, Loose Stable, Entrance / from / Market Street, Harness & / Saddle room, Staircase, Per--, Single Stall Stable, Three Coachouses &c, Entrance from Court A, Stable Yard, Dunghole, Pump / & / Well, A / Carriage Way & / Court / common to the / different Prop [erties], (pencil) Get access / into Mews / from Charles / Street but / the ---- of / the [remainder illegible], to be given to ----

Signed and dated

Lincolns Inn Fields 23d May 1816 / J.S. In addition the drawing is signed by John Nash and John Soane 1st July 1816, Approved St Germans

Medium and dimensions

Pen, pink and sepia wash with multi ruled and sepia wash border on wove pape, verso pen and sepia wash (408 x 583)

Hand

Sir John Soane (1753 - 1837)
Inscriptions and notes are by Soane and he signs the drawing J.S.

Verso

Elevation of five bays and two storeys with central door, arcaded upper storey and columns below. Drawn by Soane.

Notes

The difficulties in resolving a design for stables in Charles Street on a shared basis have been resolved by a site for Lord Eliot (now Earl of St Germans) alone on nearby Market Street (or Lane). Since John Nash signs drawings [37] to [40] Market Street is presumably on Crown land.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).